Make your own free website on



(Established 1946)



Temporary web page: under construction









Affiliated Colleges

Courses Offered




About Us

     The University of Sagar renamed as Doctor Harisingh Gour       Vishvavidyalaya on February 2, 1983   was founded in July 1946 by Late Dr. Sir Hari Singh Gour who donated Rs. 20 lakhs for the  purpose. The university has received under his will more than Rs. 80 lakhs. Dr. Gour piolated the affairs of the university in its early stage as its founder Vice Chancellor. The campus of the university is located on Patharia Hills over an area of more than 1,750 acres.


The earlier University of Sagar Act. 1946 was repeated by the M P Vishvavidhalaya Adhiniyam( No 22 of 73) with affect from May 4, 1973.

CHANCELLOR  : Bhai Mahavir

VICE CHANCELLOR : Shri  Shiv  Kumar  Shrivastava

REGISTRAR  : Prof A. K. Gupta 'Lashgari'


Arts : Prof. S.K. Acharya
Engineering : Prof. P.P. Rodey
Social Sciences : Prof. A.K. Purohit
Students Welfare : Dr. D.P. Khare
Commerce: Prof. Bimal Kumar Jain
Law : Prof. H.N. Giri
Science : Prof. V.K. Saxena
Technology : Prof. J.G. Asthana
Education : Prof. A.K. Purohit(Ag)
Life Sciences : Prof. D.P. Gupta
Mgt Studies : Prof. Yashwant Thakur

DIRECTOR SPORTS (Actg) : Dr. R K Goutam

Ag. LIBRARIAN : Dr. B P Shrivastava

  The University is a teaching , affiliating and residential institution. Its jurisdiction extends to 6 revenue districts of MP namely Sagar, Damoh , Tikamgarh, Chhatarpur, Panna & Chhindwara. It is the largest and oldest university of MP. The university has 68 affiliated colleges. (1998-99) Enrolment 12,226 (Men 9,905; Women 2,321).

Home | Affiliated Colleges | Courses Offered | Facilities | Activities | Teachers | About Us